top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Super Mom Feature #3: DAHLIA WAKEFIELD

I first met Dahlia at a Global Country Concert in 2015. This gorgeous gal performed the last song of the night with the Dirt Road Angels and her voice blew me away! She reminded me a little of a soulful countrified Kelly Clarkson, such power in her vocals and presence on stage. I then learned she was a mom of two so obviously I was even more impressed! Since then it's like I'm addicted to watching all these motivated moms that surround me. They all continue to follow their passion, do what they love and it continues to motivate and inspire me.

I bump into Dahlia sometimes, at different functions and events, most recently was at a music workshop! She's another local leading lady in the music community that is showing us all that it's possible to achieve what we want if we continue to put in the hard work and dedication. She has a new CD release coming up with the Dirt Road Angels, who by the way are an amazing group of gals - including DANITA who is also a super mom who I may track down for questions for another post! Their unique harmonious sound is something that will captivate you! See what they are all about HERE

Managed to track down Dahlia for some intel on how she manages the band with DRA, her acoustic duo band and her band with the Value Villians.

What’s your secret to balancing it all? As it is, I am just trying to keep my head above water and usually fly by the seat of my pants but I guess the secret is ....to write everything down. I am a writer so I need to write things down. I find that if I don't write it down, it doesn't get done LOL I try to be as organized as I can and live by my daytimer... but also try to be flexible with my schedule as well. What would your daughters say if asked about their mom being a local rockstar? Hahaha Well I'm not a rockstar by any means but they think it's pretty cool what I do .... they are my biggest fans!!! They love coming to the gigs they are allowed to come to (most of them are 18+ venues) but they are SO there when it's an all-ages festival. Are you a scramble at the last minute running out the door type in the mornings or an early riser who has everything pre-done and organized? I am a night owl so I do most of my prep work at night but then I also try to do too much in the morning as well so I sometimes scramble at the last minute running out the door mornings for sure. Time goes by so fast these days...there really isn't enough time in a day! As a mom of two who’s working now full time as a musician (congrats by the way, a huge accomplishment to those who don’t know it’s a very hard business). What’s the one thing you have to have OR have to have done in the mornings to make it a great start to your day? COFFEE and lots of it!!! It helps wake me up and helps me function as I rarely get the required amount of sleep LOL Whiskey or wine? WINE Leather or lace? BOTH...at the same time preferably 😉 What’s your goto for fast but healthy food for you and your girls? Subway What one thing can you say you’re a whiz at - excluding being an incredible vocalist? Doing cartwheels lmao

Obviously, I have to arrange a playground meeting in the spring so we can have a cartwheel showdown! THANK YOU Dahlia for continuously swinging for the fences, doing what you love, not letting anything or anyone get in your way. You are a true mommy that rocks! Through motherhood, music and everything in between, we can make it happen together - keep on rocking!!

Here's a link to one of her original songs "SIMPLE THINGS" which I love - you'll see her two girls in the video too! So CUTE!!

Catch Dahlia at one of her upcoming shows, here are all her links!

Her website HERE

Facebook HERE

Dirt Road Angels Band site HERE


bottom of page