top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Super Mom Feature #2: CANDICE RYAN

Candice Ryan just finished performing in the 4 day production of the incredible Edmonton Singing Christmas Tree here in the city and has a brand new Radio morning show with CFWE Radio.

It’s been a couple years, two babies and lots of life change since we both shared the stage together, but I do remember being quite the online stalker of Candice before we actually met, a few years back. I was always checking what she was up to, always watched her YouTube videos before I had a performance because she always made those notes look so easy! She made me see and believe I could do what ever I wanted, especially when it came to reaching those notes. It was at the 2013 Canadian Country Music Award Event that I officially met Candice, and it was because I built up the courage to go talk to her. Thankfully we had the same backing band so that made it easier to start a conversation! YES Candice, I was that girl. The one that was very nervous meeting you!

This powerhouse award winning vocalist has sang the National Anthem at every major sporting event in Edmonton and I am proud to call her a friend. She also continues to give back to many charities in the city and has released many songs to Country radio including her cross over hit "California Sunrise" which you can get including all her music on iTunes HERE.

We were quick to become friends, gave me many pointers and even donated her time and voice to my 'Night For Nashville' Fundraiser event before I ventured to Music City with the Global Country Association. We sang the same set list and just like that got pregnant and had babies at the same time! Yes we both had baby girls born 10 days apart! It's been a couple years now since we were at the Starlite Room opening up for local country artist Danielle Marie in 2015 (picture above with the talented Dustin Roy, Scott Greene, Angus McNainy, Matt O'Connor and Steve Pinsent). Its always a great night bringing both our voices together and so much fun! I am in my element when I can sing with someone else's vocals on the same song.

Candice has been a vocal coach, a mentor and we've even had a lot of fun singing together multiple times on stage. We even wrote a couple of songs which have still to be shared with the world. Everyone needs a friend that you can just show up uninvited after so much time and she'll just hang out and it's like no time has passed at all. She never ceases to amaze me, and for me, it’s always timing with Candice. When I felt defeated in what I was doing she always made me feel like I could do anything. I always saw a post of hers that made me feel like I could make that self doubt feeling go away. Thank you Candice for all those times and for everything.

I threw a few questions at Candice to see how she's been coping with this busy time of year....

With the Edmonton Singing Christmas Tree all wrapped up this past weekend and now you're back to your very early morning wake ups at the radio station, what’s the one thing you need in the mornings to make it a great start to your day? Coffee! LOL Waking up at 4am I need lots of coffee. But I make sure everything is packed & prepped the night before - mornings are crazy!

Are you all ready for the holidays? Shopping done? Or are you a total last minute everything doer? This year we're not doing a lot of presents. Maggie (My 2 year old) will get her couple gifts but we have lots of crafts to make for family! What’s your goto karaoke song? Good Girl by Carrie Underwood or How Far by Martina McBride What’s the one thing you’d like to try that’s dangerous if there wasn’t any risk involved? I would love to race cars, like NASCAR style that would be super fun!

Who’s celebrity closet would you love to raid? Probably Dita Von Teese, she loves the 50's inspired clothes and they are so gorgeous! What’s your favourite holiday food - maybe it’s an annual family tradition that you just live without?

Holiday food is just good in general. Sweets and big meals!

Whiskey or wine? Depends on my mood, but lately I've been a wine drinker. Leather or lace? Leather makes me sweat and lace is itchy... LOL What one thing can you say you’re a whiz at - excluding being an incredible vocalist? I really don't know. I can change a diaper in the dark.....

Even though we've known each other for some time now, i'm proud to know this always inspiring, fearless, human being. Time is precious and I know we don’t get to spend much time together now, but love it when we do and I'm lucky that when we do hang out time isn't an issue. She continues to be one I look up to and appreciate - so thank you Candice! Like the time she surprised me and took me to see Miranda Lambert with meet and greet passes! That was definitely one for the books and came at such a perfect time. I was having such an awful week with lots of change going on and she came in and saved my usually always optimistic mood! You can read her rendition of that night at the CFWE Radio website where she has her blog site HERE.

Go watch some of her YouTube Videos, here ABOVE is her singing "Deck the Rooftop" with her back up dancers from last weekend at the Edmonton Singing Christmas Tree. It's been on repeat here all morning as my girl just loves it! She keeps saying, "I want to go there" so I may have to take her to next years show!

Keep singing and sharing your voice and never stop inspiring Candice! We all love you!

Here's where you can connect with Candice yourself and you should go and check out her videos, you will be glad you did!

Find out whats going on with Candice and her always entertaining posts!

Find her on Facebook HERE

Find her on INSTAGRAM HERE

Find here on TWITTER HERE

Her CFWE RADIO page and Blog link HERE


bottom of page